Never Lose Sight of Yourself

never

I was at a champagne lunch with my Mom the other day, well, let’s be honest, it was only champagne, but it WAS during normal lunch hours!  Anyway, we chose one of our favorite restaurants, Bella Saratoga, which is located in the cutest, most idyllic little town of Saratoga.  It’s a quant little town nestled against beautiful green hills, with fancy restaurants situated next to casual little coffee shops, with boutiques and wine bars in between.  Amazing, right?


As we were cheersing and sipping our champagne, I couldn’t help but look at the hills greenand remember the girl I was before my breakup and finances weren’t looking too comfortable. This was a town I frequented quite often, treating myself to fabulous dinners on a regular basis.  I love to glam it up and play fashion show, so I used every opportunity to curl my hair, piece together a fabulous outfit, grab my fanciest handbag and out the door I went to indulge in an evening of fine food, wine and great company.  I never took those times for granted because I was living moments I dreamed of when I was a little girl.

My situation has drastically changed since those times; a lot of it is due to situational experiences that weren’t exactly my choice.  Being out of my most recent relationship now where the glam life was not encouraged or entirely welcomed, it was pretty refreshing to be back where I was living moments that I so enjoyed years ago.  It was a great reminder to me of who I was before that relationship and an opportunity to really think about who I am at heart and what I want for myself.

As silly as it may sound, I want to curl my hair, wear fun outfits, and simply feel fancy!  Why?  Not to impress or meet the expectations of others, but simply because it makes me happy.  And at the end of the day, that’s what matters, right?

glam

One thought on “Never Lose Sight of Yourself

Leave a Reply

